Astronomy Chair Emeritus Elected AAAS Astronomy Section Chair

December 21, 2016

Bradley Peterson, astronomy department professor and chair emeritus, has been elected chair of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Section on Astronomy. Peterson will serve as chair-elect in 2017, chair in 2018 and retiring chair in 2019.

Astronomer Joins Ranks of ASC NSF CAREER Award Winners

December 13, 2016

Adam Leroy, assistant professor, astronomy, is ASC’s latest NSF CAREER Award recipient. His five-year grant of $582,635 allows Leroy and his graduate students to use latest-generation radio telescopes to study how stars are born in galaxies.

Beatty appointed to NASA advisory panel

December 7, 2016

CCAPP faculty member Jim Beatty has been appointed to serve on a NASA advisory panel. He will join the Executive Committee of the Physics of the Cosmos Analysis Group (PhysPAG) from 2016 to 2019.