2019 Price Prize Winners Announced

June 17, 2019

2019 Price Prize Winners Announced

2019 Prize Winners Carolyn Raithel and Shany Danieli

CCAPP is proud to announce the winners of the 2019 Price Prize in Cosmology and Astrophysics!

Carolyn Raithel (Arizona) and Shany Danieli (Yale)

Carolyn’s research focuses on the dense-matter equation of state and its effect on a variety of astrophysical observables, from neutron star radii to core-collapse supernovae and neutron star mergers. Her work combines both analytic derivations and numerical simulations. While working on the interpretation of GW170817, she discovered a new relationship that directly maps the tidal deformability of a merger to the neutron star radius.

Shany Danieli uses innovative methods and instrumentation to discover faint galaxies and study their dark matter content. She designed and leads the Dragonfly Wide Field Survey, a comprehensive survey of the low surface brightness Universe using the Dragonfly Telephoto Array. In 2019, she provided the strongest evidence yet for the existence of a class of galaxies that lack dark matter.

About the Prize

The Dr. Pliny A. and Margaret H. Price Prize recognizes research excellence and exceptional promise in areas related to CCAPP initiatives. Two recipients are selected annually by the CCAPP Science Board based on a review of their research in the areas of cosmology and astroparticle physics. CCAPP hosts Prize recipients for a week during which they give a Price Prize seminar on their research, establish long-term collaborative relationships, and receive a $1,500 honorarium.

Together, Steve Price and his wife Jill Levy created and endowed the Dr. Pliny A. and Margaret H. Price Prize in 2009 with a generous gift of $127,000 in honor of Steve’s parents.