CCAPP Symposium 2009: Towards Fundamental Breakthroughs in Astrophysics and Cosmology within the Next Decade


The Inaugural Symposium of The Ohio State University's
Center for Cosmology and Astro-Particle Physics (Columbus, OH USA)
Monday October 12 through Wednesday October 14, 2009

  • The Ohio State University's Center for Cosmology and Astro-Particle Physics builds upon a synergy between OSU's Departments of Astronomy and Physics, to pursue research at the interface of cosmology, astrophysics, and high-energy particle physics.
  • CCAPP's multi-messenger research initiatives include institutional affiliations with the Dark Energy Survey (DES), Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST), SuperNova Acceleration Probe (SNAP), Swift, Fermi Gamma-ray Observatory, Pierre Auger Observatory, ANtarctic Impulsive Transient Antenna (ANITA), Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS-III) and IceCube.
  • Our primary objective is to create a world-leading interdisciplinary research center focused on fundamental issues such as dark matter/energy and the genesis/evolution of the Cosmos. In that regard, CCAPP will host annual fall symposia that feature local research activities in the context of broad scientific themes. Motivated by the recent Astro2010 Decadal, the motif of the Inaugural CCAPP Symposium 2009, to be held from October 12-14, will be "Towards Fundamental Breakthroughs in Astrophysics and Cosmology within the Next Decade".
  • This will be explored via a series of invited/contributed talks and open discussion/poster sessions guided by fundamental physics questions, which span the broad themes of high-energy particle astrophysics and cosmology, in both theoretical and experimental/observational contexts, and include:

1. What are the sources and acceleration mechanisms of high-energy cosmic rays?

2. What are the astrophysical mechanisms associated with high-energy electromagnetic emission?

3. What is the nature of dark matter and dark energy?

4. What insights may be gained from multi-messenger astronomy?

Confirmed invited speakers include:

Peter Meszaros (Penn State)
Francis Halzen (UW Madison)
Marco Cirelli (CEA)
Gary Bernstein (U Penn)
Risa Wechsler (Stanford)
David Schlegel (LBNL).

  • In addition, a public lecture will be given by Francis Halzen on Monday evening (10/12/09).
  • Participation will be limited to ~100 persons. Please continue to refer to this website for updates regarding the symposium.
  • Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC): Michael Stamatikos (SOC Chair, High-Energy Particle Astrophysics Sub-Committee Lead), Brian Baughman, Basudeb Dasgupta, Tim Eifler, Mandeep Gill, Eric Grashorn, Shunsaku Horiuchi, Stelios Kazantzidis, Kyler Kuehn, Michael Mortonson, Matthew Pieri (Cosmology Sub-Committee Co-Lead), Carsten Rott, Eduardo Rozo, Jennifer Siegal-Gaskins and Haojing Yan (Cosmology Sub-Committee Co-Lead).
  • Local Organizing Committee (LOC): Michael Stamatikos, Yavonne McGarry and Lisa Krehnovi.
  • There were 71 participants